Mayer Stack


Unknown Unknown 1100.2021.5001.jpg Days Past Collection B&W 1100-2021-5001 1100.2021.5001 Print 5x7 Media c. 1941 Reproduction rights are not available. Owned by another institution.


Photo of the iconic 129-foot Mayer stack, built in 1917 and still standing as of today (2021).

In 1917 the Great Western Smelters Corporation contracted with Weber Chimney Company to build a reinforced concrete chimney stack to increase the Mayer smelter’s capacity to process 500 tons of ore daily. However, due to a continuing lack of ore supply, the Mayer smelter, which had closed for 8 months from mid-1917 to early 1918, never reopened. The stack was the only part built as part of the existing smelter’s expansion plans. By 1922, except for the stack, all remnants of the smelter were demolished.

Photo Courtesy of Nancy Burgess.


To purchase this image please click on the NOTIFY US button and we will contact you with details

Notify Us

The process for online purchase of usage rights to this digital image is under development. To order this image, CLICK HERE to send an email request for details. Refer to the ‘Usage Terms & Conditions’ page for specific information. A signed “Permission for Use” contract must be completed and returned. Written permission from Sharlot Hall Museum is required to publish, display, or reproduce in any form whatsoever, including all types of electronic media including, but not limited to online sources, websites, Facebook Twitter, or eBooks. Digital files of images, text, sound or audio/visual recordings, or moving images remain the property of Sharlot Hall Museum, and may not be copied, modified, redistributed, resold nor deposited with another institution. Sharlot Hall Museum reserves the right to refuse reproduction of any of its materials, and to impose such conditions as it may deem appropriate. For certain scenarios, the price for personal usage of the digital content is minimal; CLICK HERE to download the specific form for personal usage. For additional information, contact the Museum Library & Archives at 928-445-3122 ext. 14 or email: